Gold Standards Framework

Textbox Section
Gold Standards Framework Accreditation

Corner Lodge became a Gold Standards Framework Accredited Home for end of life care in June 2020. This award shows we can provide the end of life care every individual deserves.

The Gold Standards Framework is a two-year programme where End of Life Care is evidenced in 2 stages. Stage 1 is through an evidence-based portfolio of care provided, and stage 2 a visit to the Home where standards of care and the environment is assessed by experts in this field.

End of life care planning is essential for continuity of care ensuring each resident or their family can make decisions and choices before the resident reaches the final stages of their lives. This helps to avoid some of the distress and anxiety at an emotional time. These choices include:

  • Priorities of Care (GSF)
  • Preferred Place of Care (PPC)
  • Hospital avoidance
  • Final wishes
  • DNAR (GP or hospital consultant discussion)
  • The standard of collaboration and planning of care between resident, family, care staff and community services, and the implementation of this care forms the basis for The Gold Standards Framework Accreditation Award.

    We are not a nursing home, but our care staff are trained in providing Palliative and End of Life Care. We are supported by our GP, Community and Hospice Nurses. We provide profiling beds for efficient management of care, nutritional assessments as resident’s health changes, regular monitoring of the resident with 1-1 care as end of life approaches.